Honesty in airline pricing would be nice

By Stephen Rhodes

Air Canada has a seat sale on right now and it just annoys me that they run ads that require a calculator and glasses the thickness of Coke bottles to determine the real price of flying to Moncton. The ad says I can go for $109. If I want to return that’s another kettle of fish.

The Go Far campaign ends March 9 and has a bunch of limitations on when you can fly. That I understand…selling off underutilized time periods is good business. It’s the $109 that bugs me. So I go online, fill out the dates, tick off the $109 flight (there are several for the day I choose and a couple at $99) select return because as much as I love my grandchildren I don’t plan to live with them, and voila $319.70.

I can spend another $17 on advance seat selection, $25 for travel assistance, $45 for lounge access and that’s just for the outbound flight. That infernal small print at the bottom allows me to check a box for the same options on the return flight. I select none of these options so my full price goes from $109 one way to $319.70 including $101.70 in taxes, fees, charges and surcharges.

Here’s the deal. It’s a good price. We fly to the east coast a few times a year, sometimes with Air Canada and sometimes West Jet, depending on who has the best price.

This isn’t something peculiar to Canadian airlines. I had a similar experience looking for a winter haven for a week. Prices are advertised as low as $500 for an all-inclusive  week in the sun, and then of course there are taxes, fees, charges and surcharges adding as much as $300 per person.

It’s annoying. Just tell us the truth. We can handle it.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

Filed under Stephen Rhodes

One response to “Honesty in airline pricing would be nice

  1. Anita

    What about the baggage? On my recent 14 hr. flight, baggage check in was a pain. Although the allowance was 20 kg per piece, I was on my knees at the airport, moving stuff from one piece to another (we had 4) so it would be 20 kg. Move it or pay $ 800.00 for excess baggage.

Leave a Reply

